2020 Fox 36 GRIP2 Factory with Vorsprung Smashpot 170mm long-term review.

Note that immediately used the Vorsprung Smashpot conversion and did not try the air setup. and further testing can’t be done, as I have sold the fork.

Photo Album

Serial number
Fox 36 Factory Grip2 Kashima

Fork setup:

I forgot the spring rate I used.

but I ran 5 clicks slow speed rebound out of fully closed.

FOX 36 Factory with Vorsprung Smashpot
Fox 36 Factory Grip2 High & low rebound

high and low speed compression at 0/fully open, I’ve tested it but anything above fully open on both felt too harsh.

Vorsprung Smashpot

Smashpot – Fork Coil Conversion System – Vorsprung Suspension

Engineered Suspension – Vorsprung Suspension

in Norway spring can be bought at https://www.vpg.no/vorsprung-suspension/276161/vorsprung-smashpot-springs

Fox 36 GRIP2 Factory Vorsprung Smashpot

the bottom out control, allows you to resist bottom out, but I had it at fully open, I guess if I was heavier and definitely git big stuff, this would be beneficial. the dial was very easy to turn, but never experienced it shifting during hard riding.

DSC_0000_BURST20200826151219168-1
FOX 36 Factory with Vorsprung Smashpot

Just about Fox 36

Jagwire Pro brake cable
Mudhugger Front Race
Mudhugger Front Race

Horrible creaking:

After using the fox 36 from Nov 2019 to summer 2021, it got very creaky, made snapping and creaking noises, it was horrible, very loud, every time I turned there was creaking, and slamming front wheel made a horrible racket, kind of resembled a shopping trolley with shot bearings and loose wheels, at some points it sounded like the fork was snapping in half, mostly during fakies and stoppies. I used the fork since nov 2019 and fork was pre-used, but that’s horrible longevity, but all long travel enduro forks will have this issue, but I hope the EXT Era will perform better, as it has a beefier crown, spreading the load better, and the steerer tube is straight, but the crown has the taper instead, also the arch is stiffer.

When testing the fork later at home another day, the fork sounded much worse than in this video.

it sounded very similar to what Ramsay Mac Farlane showed, but in addition the fork sounding like it was snapping during high loads.

But I’ve not tried 38, so don’t know how they will compare. I am 86kg, bike is 17.84 kg now, with new wheels, rotors, and the EXT fork.

The binding mentioned, was definitely notable for me, especially during stoppies and fakies. the difference between his fork and mine is the bolt tru axle clamping dropouts… but you get the point.

Fork Stiffness

The stiffness was decent, I did not come across any flex/stiffness related issues, but when doing fakies I noticed the fork flexed more than the EXT ERA, I tested this with Hope Tech Enduro 29 wheel with Michelin wild enduro on both forks, same pressure. I could definitely feel it. later I tried DT Swiss wheel set with 350 boost hub and FR560 30mm rims, same tyre model and pressure, 24 psi, still felt similar or the same, it did not have the slight flex I noticed with the Fox 36, but I did not check those wheel on the Fox 36.

during rooty riding the Fox 36 felt good, until the tyre pressure was too high bey 10psi, then I felt the flex, probably the wheel flex, maybe the fork flexed to, but hard to tell,I noticed this becuase I sent the Fumpa pump I had to use a Beto track pump but there was 10 psi difference, when I read the pressure, so this was probably the reason I felt the Fox 36 flex during rooty terrain. I’ve not tested this with the Era yet.

When I sent the Fumpa pump I had to use a Beto track pump but there was 10 psi difference, when I read the pressure, so this was probably the reason I felt the Fox 36 flex during rooty terrain. I run 26psi rear 24 psi front, but as I had to use the track pump the pump fooled me so pressure were 10npsi higher so 36 rear 34 front, no wonder I felt the flex it probably was mostly the front wheel flexing, not sure if the fork did.

First off the the fork was used on a Geometron G1 with stock setup, about 62 deg head angle. and Michelin Wild Enduro tyres, which replaced the Maxxis setup I started with.

Rider weight fully kitted: about 86Kg

Bike weight: 18.29 kg

Front Wheel: Hope Tech Enduro 29 converted to boost with MRP Better Boost conversion kit.

Fox 36 Factory Boost 110x15
Fox 36 Factory Boost 110×15
Hope Tech Pro 4 with MRP Better Boost adapters.

The Good:

  • Great tyre clearance, even with mudguard.
Fox 36 & Mudhugger Front Race
2019 Fox 36 Factory - fork arch
  • bolt on mudguard compatible
  • The Grip2 dials are secure, they don’t shift during hard riding.
Nice colours & Compression adjustment
ID code - FOX 36 Factory
  • this sticker lets you know about the tyre clerance
Tyre clearance warning - FOX 36 Factory

It depends:

  • has all the adjustments, but with air setup you have to use volume reducers, to tune it, so that’s another thing you have to have and have to fiddle with, opening up the air chamber with suspension socket, so during testing you have to have it with you. EXT ERA does this differently, by having 2 air chambers, this results in nice adjustment without having to fiddle with a lot of stuff.

The bad:

  • as usual with mid and long travel forks they start to creak horribly in few months to a year or two depending on use. it’s the crown& steer tube, stanchions in crown that creak.
  • It would be nice if it came stock with a the fool proof bolt tru axle, so you don’t have any thing to mess up, this would assure stiff and secure connection without chance of messing it up if you just tighten the bolt properly, and using a torque wrench will assure you actually did it. the only reason for the quick release axles is to make it fast and easy to take the wheel off when you puncture or take it in and out of a car a lot.
FOX 36 Factory with Vorsprung Smahspot

https://flic.kr/p/2m8GfA8

  • The big Grip2 low speed compression dial unnecessarily much effort to turn.
FOX 36 Factory Grip2 compression dial

Leave a comment