Long term review: MRP AMg V2 chainguide

Even trough the guide itself is made of plastic, it held up well.

I have been riding pretty fast in rough terrain, up and down steep trails, jumped, did some stunts, and drops, riding down steep stairs(40-50 degrees)in low gears, the chain never came off, there were not many signs of wear, but eventually you will have to change the guide,(the plastic part with Mrp logo), but I have been using it over a year and held up well, not much wear.

one of my first thought about the guard was it might get much mud stuck in it, but even though I have been riding in bad weather, there were not much dirt or mud stuck in there. But as long as you don’t ride in extreme condition, with a lot of mud, in something like Danny Hart’s 2011 world cup run, or even thicker mud, I am sure It won’t be an issue.

Updated 17.05.2017:

I there was some missing spacers, and I lost some of the thin spacers,but later I found them, so I switched to 2x thin spacers, which should, be better, but I still think bigger gravel can get stuck in between the chain ring and chain guide, but this is impossible to avoid.

But Now as I have a Sortimo boxes I don’t have a mess so it won’t loose any more small parts.

Make sure you Use the right spacers.

After riding a lot in the spring I noticed scrape on the 36T cinch narrow wide race face chainring, which I think is caused by a stone getting stuck between the chainring and the chain guide, causing a perfect circle scrape.

I had the bike in the repair stand, after riding on gravel paths, I noticed that there was a stone stuck in the chain guide and was scraping the chainring, and fell down again, I think that’s what happen the last time.

Pros:

  • Very easy to install, & setup, No need to remove crankset or chainring to install the chain guide,
  • Minimalistic design, no bulky or unnecessary big parts.
  • after few hits, no damage done

30174329592_65b83011b9_b

Cons:

  • all of the guides I got had missing thick spacers, and missing short screws.
  • the provided screws round off very easy, I have (3 guides all of the screws are as weak)the first time I screwed them in they rounded off, screwed them in gently at 5 nm, the screws should be torqued to 8-9nm according to the manual.
  • Mrp claims it should fit 38 T chainring, But in my opinion, 36T is the max, with 38T the plastic will be too close to the edge of the chain. so if the guard was few millimetres bigger, it would fix 38T better, but I don’t need a 38T ring anyway.

 

Verdict:

Recommended, but get better screws.

Product page: http://www.mrpbike.com/amg/

Leave a Reply

